Vijay Hazare Trophy: Karnataka Beat Hyderabad to Enter Quarters

File image of Karnataka cricketer Vinay Kumar. (PTI)File image of Karnataka cricketer Vinay Kumar. (PTI)

File image of Karnataka cricketer Vinay Kumar. (PTI)

Kolkata: Karnataka rode on R Vinay Kumar’s unbeaten knock under pressure to secure a thrilling one-run win over Hyderabad and seal a quarterfinal berth in the Vijay Hazare Trophy ODI one-day cricket tournament, here on Saturday.

Old warhorse Vinay Kumar used all his experience and remained unbeaten on 35 to guide Karnataka to victory after they were tottering for 81 for nine while chasing a paltry 109 run target at the Eden Gardens.

On a day when their premier batsmen showed lack of patience and got out playing rash shots, number nine, Vinay Kumar, playing his first match of the meet after recovering from an injury, held on to his nerve and played a patient 56-ball knock to take Karnataka to last eight round with five wins from as many matches.

Karnataka were 28 shy of the target when Vinay Kumar was joined by number 11 batsman Prasidh Krishna.

Earlier, off-spinner K Gowtham grabbed a career-best 5 for 28 to bundle out for 108 in 44 overs.

In reply, Karnataka were nine for two by the fifth over with Chama Milind striking in his first over with the left-arm seamer claiming two wickets in two balls castling Gowtham (16) and Manish Pandey (0) to reduce them to 39 for four.

When the need of the hour was to stay at the crease, Karnataka batsmen were in a hurry to score runs as Siraj also took wickets in successive deliveries in the 11th over. Having stayed there patiently, opener Mayank Agarwal was bowled by Hasan in the 16th over while Stuart Binny also departed at the same score when Vinay Kumar arrived at the crease with Karnataka reeling at 65 for eight in 16.2 overs.

Meanwhile, in an inconsequential Group D match, Parvez Rasool claimed a hat-trick after scoring a 48-ball 53 to hand Jammu and Kashmir a 23-run win over Saurashtra at the Bengal Cricket Academy in Kalyani about 50 kilometeres from here.

Put into bat, Jammu and Kashmir were 50 for four when Rasool and Ram Dayal (50) put together 57 runs before being bundled out for 170 in 46 overs.

Rasool was on song in the 21st over when he cleaned up Sheldon Jackson before dismissing Chirag Jani and Jaydev Unadkat en route to his hat-trick. He also claimed a fourth, dismissing Shaurya Sanandia LBW in the 33rd over for a List A career-best figure of four for 39 as Saurashtra’s innings folded for 147 in 34. 3 overs.

Jammu and Kashmir were already out of the race and this was their first win from five matches.

Summarised Score:

At Eden Gardens: Hyderabad 108 in 44 overs (K Gowtham 5/28) lost to Karnataka 109/9 in 29.2 overs (R Vinay Kumar 35 not out; Mohammed Siraj 3/24, Chama Milind 3/42, Ravi Kiran 2/32) by one wicket.