Vijay Hazare Trophy: Bengal Post 14-Run Win over Madhya Pradesh

Manoj Tiwary. (Getty Images)Manoj Tiwary. (Getty Images)

Manoj Tiwary. (Getty Images)

Chennai: Sudip Chatterjee’s 91-run knock and a half-century by skipper Manoj Tiwary enabled Bengal eke out a 14-run win over Madhya Pradesh in a Vijay Hazare Trophy Group C one-day match here on Saturday.

Bengal scored 270 for eight and then restricted Madhya Pradesh to 256 in 49 overs, despite a fine century from Harpreet Singh.

Opting to bat, Bengal lost two early wickets before Chatterjee and Tiwary put on a crucial 127-run stand for the third wicket.

Chatterjee’s innings came off 101 balls and was studded with eight boundaries and two sixes, while Tiwary scored a 73-ball 59 with the help of three fours.

Debabrata Das (25) and Kanishk Seth (22) also chipped in with runs lower down as Bengal reached 270 for eight in their allotted 50 overs.

Chasing 271 for victory, Madhya Pradesh managed to put on a couple of 50-plus partnerships but eventually fell short.

Harpreet hit 109 off 134 deliveries that included nine boundaries and a six. He also put on a 55-run stand for the third wicket with Shubham Sharma (17) and another 69-run partnership with Sohraab Dhaliwal (37) for the fifth wicket.

Sayan Ghosh (3/43) was the pick of the bowlers for Bengal.

Brief scores:

Bengal: 270 for 8 in 50 overs (Sudip Chatterjee 91, Manoj Tiwary 59; Venkatesh Iyer 2/38)

Madhya Pradesh: 256 all out in 49.0 overs (Harpreet Singh 109; Sayan Ghosh 3/43)